The Casa-Fuerte de Bezmiliana is, without doubt, the most iconic monument. It was built around 1766 as a complement to the traditional organization of the existing military defence in the 16th century (forming part of the Torre de El Cantal and the Torre de Benagalbón) with the aim of repulsing the piracy and banditry that threatened the zone.
The building is quadrangular and comprises a wall with two watchtowers, a central building and a typical covered well, or alcuílla (from the Arabic al qubba = the cupola), in the exterior. The main entrance is crowned with the coat of arms of Carlos III. Inside the fortress we find the "sala de la tropa" (troop hall) and the "sala del oficial" (officers' hall) united by a common chimney stack with two fireplaces, as well as the "sala sur o de las caballerizas" (southern hall or stables) with 14 stalls and a stone paved floor.
Currently this is used as an exhibition hall and the walls are regularly hung with works by the most famous artists in every discipline.
* The two watchtowers standing in the municipality date back to the 14th century, although the first written records date back to 1492, the year in which they are listed in a report sent to the Catholic Monarchs regarding their reconstruction. Their function was to continuously monitor the sea to alert nearby forts of pirate raids using smoky fires during the day and bonfires at night.
The El Cantal watchtower is situated on a cliff about 30 m above sea level. It has a truncated conical shape with a maximum and minimum diameter of 7.15 m and 6.25 m respectively, and a height of 10.65 m.
The Torre de Benagalbón watchtower, located on a small mound, also has a truncated conical shape with a diameter of 7 m at the base and 6 m at the top, and a height of 10.50 m.
Functionally, these buildings have been developed into two unique spaces: one is a rooftop terrace and the other an interior chamber with a spiral staircase inside.
* The Museum of Popular Arts is located in the heart of Benagalbón and was created in 1995 by popular initiative and sponsored by the Cultural Department of Rincón de la Victoria Town Council, in order to preserve our roots and cultural traditions.
This museum is distributed in two parts: one given over to a traditional farmer's house (composed of living room, kitchen and bedroom) and the other to typical farming goods and implements from the area.
It should be noted that almost all the existing pieces have been donated by the people of the municipality.
* The Torre de Benagalbón Roman site is an important archaeological enclave which had its origins in the 7th and 8th centuries BC. Important remnants of Phoenician pottery have been found from its earliest period. A mural painting of the "opus africanum" style from the Republican period is conserved, but the most important archaeological remains belong to the late 3rd and early 4th centuries AD and consist of:
- Roman baths with corresponding bathrooms (frigidarium, caldarium and tepidarium) and latrines. Next to the baths are the remains of a garum factory which produced the famous sauce made with fermented fish and herbs that was highly appreciated and exported to Rome.
- A luxurious Roman villa with thirteen mosaics, including an outstanding one of Jupiter disguised as a satyr seducing Antiopa, daughter of Thebes. The most valuable piece found is the head of a sculpture of the god Bacchus dated to the 2nd century AD carved from Italian marble. Other remains found indicate that a part of the complex was used for the curing of salted fish.
* The Cueva del Tesoro is of marine origin. Its galleries were formed underwater by currents and waves. Later, the entire El Cantal area was raised from under the sea and with it the different hollows and caves that are found here, such as the Cueva del Tesoro. This origin means that the most characteristic features are gorges and columns. Later infiltration of freshwater has created other phenomena that are more typical of limestone caves, such as stalactites and stalagmites.
It is the home to remains of cave paintings that were described in 1918 by Abbé Breuil. The archaeological remains of the Cueva del Tesoro are preserved in the National Archaeological Museum in Madrid. Numerous pottery shards from the Neolithic were found, as well as flint stone tools, including a Solutrean arrowhead. Human and animal remains have also been found here.
The cave is best known for the oral and written tradition of the existence of a treasure hidden here during the Andalusí era. This tradition is reflected in the 17th century writings of Fray Antonio Agustín de Milla y Suazo. The treasure was hidden by the Almoravid king Tashfin ibn Ali in the 12th century, and several gold coins that were part of it have since been found.
* The Parque Arqueológico del Mediterráneo is the only location of its kind in the entire Mediterranean coastline, and it covers 90,000 m2. The communication of science is at the heart of this exhibition, which presents the original geomorphological surface of the area and autochthonous Mediterranean vegetation. The park is a synthesis of how to preserve prehistoric heritage in conjunction with the sociocultural use of space.
The park is also an important green space for Rincón de la Victoria. In addition to showcasing diverse native flora, the park includes paths that are delimited with natural rock, all intended to produce the least possible environmental impact.
Residents and visitors can enjoy a 1:1 scale replica of the wall of the Cueva de La Victoria in which cave paintings have been found, together with several information panels about the caves and the park's flora.